View from the Garage

December 7, 2016

Myoporum lumber

Filed under: Uncategorized — thefusionguy @ 6:03 am

Many years ago, when the kids were little, there was a young man who lived in a small house made from a garage on a neighboring lot. This young man fancied himself a renaissance man, and he played a musical instrument until he got less bad, then he’d turn to another instrument on which he was really bad. But he seemed to have a way with women, and occasionally he’d get carried away a bit in his outdoor amorous pursuits. I figured I’d better find some way, quick and cheap, to keep the kids from seeing him and his girlfriends. So I went to the nursery and explained my problem. The clerk recommended I plant Myoporums. He said that was the plant of choice for those seeking to shield a few marijuana plants from prying eyes. So, good enough. But now, some 30 years later, those Myoporums have grown into much huger trees than I ever expected:

_dsc3854-version-2

So last week when we had to remove the trees, I thought I’d see if I could mill some interesting parts of the tree trunk into lumber for later use. First, I made a plywood sled to hold the trunks while being sliced on the bandsaw:

img_4029

img_4031

Then, using a fence, I re-sawed some thin boards. It’s a tedious process, because the green wood sticks to the bandsaw blade and builds up. So after every slice, I have to scrape the blade with a card scraper, then wax it. It’ll take a year or so before I can see whether the boards could be useful for a small box or something. If so, I bet it’s the only Myoporum box you can get!

img_4040

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

